Power and Control: Domestic and Intimate-Partner Violence in LGBTQ Relationships

The big question is how does Domestic Violence or Intimate Partner violence manifest itself in the LGBTQ community?

Media Diversified

by Carolyn Wysinger

No one actually knows this story but me and God.

Seven years ago I was in a relationship with another woman. She was beautiful, smart and had a great career. We shared a mutual respect for family, food and good times. The woman was also an abuser. I didn’t know that at the time. I wouldn’t come to understand that until a couple of years later. I don’t think I ever considered it abuse for two reasons. The first was that, as a masculine-of-centre (MOC) identified woman, I internalized the idea that I shouldn’t admit to exhibiting any type of behaviour that is considered weak. Admitting that you were being abused by your femme partner is a definite no-no.

The second reason is that, like many, I did not know where the line between submitting to your partner and being abused actually lies. We have grown so…

View original post 1,780 more words

Leave a Reply

